Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Student jobs@the Library: Working at the Library

Central location for information related to employment at the Library.

What do students who work at the Library do?

Curious? Please read the descriptions below to get an idea about what student employees do at the Library. 

Drew University Library

Student assistant position descriptions

Public/Customer Service oriented

Circulation 

Performs basic circulation and reserve desk duties including identifying, charging and discharging circulating materials and reserve items, answering patron inquiries, locating materials for patrons, checking newly processed books for accuracy; shelving and shelf-reading. Customer service orientation and ability to communicate clearly required.  Must be dependable. 

Research Services 

Assists Reference Department with clerical duties, hardware maintenance and user services. Shelves reference materials, maintains public workstations, assists users with routine questions, searches requests, provides research desk coverage on weekends, performs other duties as assigned.  Customer service orientation and communication skills required.

Special Collections

Assists with providing coverage of the reading room, including helping patrons, answering simple questions, and pulling materials. Projects may include filing, scanning/digitization, and creating inventories. Must be able to work independently.

Back Office/Clerical oriented

 

Cataloging 

Under supervision, assists Cataloging department with projects as assigned. Projects may include searching the library catalog, editing bibliographic data and holding records, processing new books (stamping, security stripping, labeling), retrieving books from the stacks.

Interlibrary Loan 

Assists with clerical duties of interlibrary loan office. Accesses photocopies,  retrieves  books, scans library materials requested by other institutions.  Processes incoming and outgoing mail. Uses document delivery system. Attention to detail required. 

Periodicals/Acquisitions

Helps maintain accuracy of library’s journal collection and related records.  Assists with receiving and processing new books. Shelves journals and microforms, uses computer system to check in periodicals, sorts mail. Assigned special projects as needed.  Accuracy and attention to detail required. Basic knowledge of Google Sheets and excel is helpful. 

Preservation 

Works with student Conservation assistants  in preservation work on books and other library materials. Cleans and treats soiled and/or deteriorated books, constructs protective enclosures for fragile and/or damaged books, keeps appropriate records. Manual dexterity and ability to work with hand tools required. Careful attention to detail and ability to work with minimum supervision necessary.

Special Collections

Assists with providing coverage of the reading room, including helping patrons, answering simple questions, and pulling materials. Projects may include filing, scanning/digitization, and creating inventories. Must be able to work independently.

 

(descriptions~2016)

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library