Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To become familiar with the voices in the field, and their core arguments about your topic, you should consult books, journal articles and organizational/governmental websites. To locate them, check catalogs, indexes and Google.
For items from a bibliography or from recommendations, first determine if the item is a journal article OR a book/part of a book.
If it is a book, search the title of the BOOK in the Drew Library Catalog.
If it is an article, search the title of the ARTICLE (not the journal) in ScholarSearch
Finding Books about a Topic
For books at Drew, check:
Drew Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search for Drew-owned books, special collections, government documents and other resources.
To identify books NOT at Drew, check:
Worldcat This link opens in a new window
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Finding Articles about a Topic
There are several indexes to choose from.
- For magazine or newspaper articles, check ScholarSearch.
- For academic/scholarly articles, check subject-specific indexes such as MLA, Greenfile, or America: History and Life.
ScholarSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches all library resources from a single search box.
MLA Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. For peer reviewed materials, check the box for "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" found under Search Options -- Limit your results. (Through NJ State Libraries )
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations and books published since 1964 on US and Canadian history; with abstracts.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Indexes important business journals, with full text for many of them, and provides access to 10,000+ Datamonitor company reports.
Finding Websites and Government Documents
The simplest way to find either websites in general, or government sources, is to use Google.
- To find organization pages, add site:.org to your search: "dakota pipeline" site:.org leads to the website of Inside Climate News. One way to check the reliability of the organization is to do a Google search on the organization.
- To find government sources, add site:.gov to your search.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library