Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

ARTH 302: Medieval Art: Find Books

Finding Books

Look here for books, print journals, and reserves.

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is a service by which Drew students, faculty and staff can submit requests to borrow materials not held by the Drew Libraries.  Users can request journal articles, books and book chapters. 

  • To submit an ILL request, please go to the ILLiad login screen (first time users are required to fill out  a brief registration form).
  • Before submitting a request, please check the Drew Library Catalog for books or Journal List to be sure that the material is not available here. Ask a librarian for help if you're not sure.
  • You may also submit an ILL request directly through Worldcat and many of our other electronic databases. Look for the link that says “Request an Interlibrary Loan” under Find it @Drew.
  • ILL can usually obtain items without a fee, but Overdue and Late Pickup fines are in effect.

Note: Books may take up to 2 weeks to arrive. Articles may arrive more quickly (sometimes the same day!) but please allow at least 5 business days for arrival. Average turnaround time for articles is 2.4 days; for books, 8 days) 

Use  Worldcat to search for books at other libraries across the U.S.  Items that Drew Library owns will appear with a green highlight.

Using the Library Catalog

Catalog search

Basic Searching

Once you're in the catalog, you can combine terms in the basic Subject Search
Search by keyword, or limit to title, author or subject using the drop down menus. 

Search tips:

  • Use quotation marks around phrases: "medieval art"
  • Use different boxes to combine concepts: Medieval art AND iconography 
  • Combine synonyms or related concepts with OR: Christian OR catholic
  • To find multiple terms that start with the same root, use the * truncation symbol: icongraph* for iconography, iconographic, iconographies, etc.
  • The Drop-down menus next to the keywords boxes allow you to limit your search to author, title, etc.
  • Use the pub year boxes to limit to items published within a certain time period.
  • use the drop down menus to limit searches, such as limiting to language-- items in English--, or location-- such as books on the library shelves that you may check out.

Reading entries in the Catalog

Entries in the catalog

  • Display the title, author, publication information for the item
  • Show the part of the library or collection and the call number for the item *
  • * if there are multiple copies in different collections, you may have to click on the title to see the list
  • Link to the electronic version of an item, if there is one.
  • Have a check box so you can select them to add to your kept list (be sure to choose "add selected items to kept list" and then print/email them before starting a new search
  • Show if the book is checked out, and give you an opportunity to recall it.

Advanced catalog search (part 1)

You can also use advanced search (link in the center of the search box) to find lists titles, author names, subject headings that   include, or begin with specific terms:

Searching for subject headings containing Pilgrims [and] Europe:

Advanced catalog search (part 2)

You can look for a subject heading with all its subheadings, by typing in the headingand choosing 'left to right'-- Searching for subjects beginning with Art, Medieval.

The number tells you how many books have that subject heading . When there are two numbers, # / #, the first tells you how many with just that subject heading, and the second, with that heading and all its sub-headings. Click on the number to choose.
Clicking on the subject, title, etc. that is displayed brings up all the related items.
 

Wayfinding in the LIbrary

Reference Books (with Ref or Reference at the beginning of the call number) are located on Level C, in the shelving ranges nearest the Research Help Desk.

This can be confusing, because circulating items from the Library collections with LC call numbers HE through Z are also in that area, in the shelving ranges closer to the Kean Room. Look for "Reference" and "Circulating" labels on the shelves and books.  

Older books that are in the 700s (art) in the Dewey Decimal System  (which we used before the LC) are on level B, down one level on that side of the building.

Oversize books are on level A, at the bottom of the library, near the tables with the comfy chairs and the microfilm cabinets.

DO ask for help if you have trouble finding anything or figuring out where it is!

Free Ebooks

Ebook collections

The library subscribes to major ebook collections,  including Ebook Central, ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection, Sage Knowledge, Springer e-books, DeGruyter University Presses, Oxford Scholarship Online. and Ebsco E-books.  See tabs on this LibGuide for tips on using these platforms to access books. In addition, many of our other library databases contain ebooks. Find them easily by limiting your search of these databases to books.  Keep in mind all of the books in these collections are also accessible through the catalog.

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library