Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Journal Articles and Essays
These are the essential databases that index sources in sociology. Generally, begin with SocINDEX, and then try Sociological Abstracts.
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
“Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.”
Some additional indexes that might be useful:
Academic Search Premier
Interdisciplinary database of newspapers, magazines and journals, with full-text for a majority of the articles. Also includes a searchable file of images.
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Scholarly articles on national and international topics in Political Science.
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
When you are searching in a database, click on to see if Drew owns or has access to it.
If it does not show up in fulll-text, check Google Scholar to see if the article is freely available on the web. If it is not, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library