Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) are useful in three ways:
- They provide an overview of topics, which can help sort out the shape of the forest before you go after individual trees.
- They often identify the core writers in a topic, the voices that are foundational or cutting-edge: use any bibliographies you find to help develop your own.
- They save time when you're looking for quick information about topics that you don't need to explore in depth.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Call Number: Reference HM 425.B53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
An eleven-volume collection of summaries and overviews.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Call Number: Reference HN 28.E55 2008
Publication Date: 2008
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: Reference H 40.I58
Publication Date: 2001
Although Wikipedia articles can sometimes be interesting starting points and provide useful links to other sites, they are not as rigorously reviewed as articles in conventional encyclopedias. So approach with caution, and always check the Talk tab - that will tell you the rating assigned to the article (by generalists, not scholars):
"Start-class" is not a good sign - it indicates that the article is incomplete and lacks sources.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library