Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use encyclopedias, dictionaries and glossaries to find:
- Quick overviews and summaries
- Definitions of terms
- Lists of recommended starting points in research.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Call Number: Reference PR 19.O95 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Entries on specific authors and movements. Includes various editions of major works, and selected bibliography.
British Writers, 1999.
Call Number: REFERENCE PR 85.B688
Long critical descriptions of authors and their works, with selected bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Gothic Literature, 2005
Call Number: Reference PN 3435.S58 2005
Brief summaries of key people and concepts, with short bibliographies of recommended sources
First Gothics: A Critical Guide to the English Gothic Novel, 19887
Call Number: Ref PR858 .T3 F73 1987
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era, 2004.
Call Number: Reference DA 550.E527 2004
Lengthy articles on people, events, topics ranging from William Acton to zoological gardens. Bibliographies of selected works.
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia, 1988
Call Number: Reference DA550 .V53 1988
Victorian Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary, 2003.
Call Number: Reference DA 550.R59 2003
Brief summaries of events, concepts and people central to the Victorian period.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
Call Number: Reference PN 81.E43 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Call Number: Reference PN 81.J554 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Key Terms in Literary Theory
Publication Date: 2012
The difference between "sign" and "signification," between "semiotic" and "semiotics" (it's not the plural).
Reference Librarian, science specialty
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library