Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Book Reviews
Book reviews can help you by:
- Giving a summary of the main point(s) of a book.
- Providing an evaluation of the book, usually by someone in the wider field.
- Comparing a book to others on the same topic.
- Revealing the initial reception of a book.
For Scholarly/Academic Reviews:
Start with a general search tool, like ScholarSearch, and then try databases within a relevant discipline (check Subject Resources for recommendations).
Searches all library resources from a single search box.
For Reviews in Popular Magazines:
Start by using ScholarSearch, but do not select "Peer Reviewed."
For Older Reviews:
Books that are 30+ years old may not be may not have reviews that are indexes in Scholar Search. Instead, check:
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Indexes popular topics in older issues of popular journals. Covers 1890 through 1983.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (Now called Eight Centuries)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. 8C provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library