Skip to Main Content
Bibliographies of Selected Sources for the Study of Rhetoric and the New Testament
Maintained by the Journal for the Study of Rhetorical Criticism of the New Testament.
New Interpreter's Bible
" The New Interpreter’s Bible presents leading biblical scholarship through an in-depth commentary on the complete Bible, including the Apocrypha. The contributors are leading biblical scholars who bring a wealth of fresh perspectives to biblical interpretation. The contributors are also theologically diverse, reflecting a wide range of denominational backgrounds: Roman Catholic, mainline Protestant, Jewish, and evangelical. "
Orion Dead Sea Scrolls Bibliography
The Orion Center was established in 1995 as part of the Institute for Jewish Studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.
Oxford Bibliographies Online-Biblical Studies
A literary guide to the most important and significant sources in Biblical Studies. Features a selective list of bibliographic citations supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult, with a unique editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. ( click “Biblical Studies” box )
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .O93 2011
Publication Date: 2011
" The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible, published as a two-volume print work and made available digitally through Oxford’s Reference Library, is the first in this series of specialized reference works, each addressing a specific subfield within biblical studies. The series aims to produce high-level scholarly reference works that are accessible and in-depth, going beyond the basics to provide more specialized coverage."
"Strong's concordance is a very useful tool for studying the scriptures. It takes every single word of the King James Version and lists where each word can be found in the scriptures. It is useful for locating scripture verses that you know the words to, but don't know the book, chapter and verse. "
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992
Publication Date: 1992
"The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary includes the complete and unabridged six volumes, 7,200-page print edition, with illustrations. It features more than 6,000 entries from 800 leading international scholars. Covering countless Biblical subjects, the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a tremendous help for in-depth exploration of the Bible."
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N445
Publication Date: 2006-2009
The most complete coverage of theological topics. This 5-volume dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based n the NRSV."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
Call Number: Ref BS511.3 .O88 2013
Publication Date: 2013
"This 2-volume work fills a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to, and methods for, interpretation of the Bible. Entries are written by expert practitioners and collectively provide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of the scholarship on some of the most important topics in the field of biblical studies. As with all high quality reference works, the Encyclopedia provides a solid foundation that students and scholars can use to orientate themselves before venturing into original research."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .O927 2015
Publication Date: 2015
"Exploration of the Bible’s theology is an ever-changing endeavor. While some issues are clearly rooted in the Bible’s historical context like theological perspectives on the creation of the world, covenant, sin, sacrifice and atonement, grace and forgiveness, other issues are rooted in the modern world, where both the secular and religious raise questions biblical authors may not have anticipated. For example, biblical perspectives may critically inform contemporary concerns about market economics, global climate change, wealth and poverty, and gender/race discrimination. The 2-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology situates itself inside this tension, classically defined as the intersection between what the Bible meant and what it means, with the objective of providing a resource for constructive theological reflection in the market place of public discourse. Less
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Narrative by
Call Number: Level F: BS521.7 .O94 2015; Level C: Ref BS521.7 .O94 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Comprised of contributions from scholars across the globe, The Oxford Handbook to Biblical Narrative offers critical treatments of both the Bible’s narratives and topics related to the Bible’s narrative constructions.
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by
Call Number: Level F: 220.6 O98o
Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies offers an authoritative and up-to-date survey of original research in biblical studies.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by
Call Number: Reference BS2312 .K5813 1964
Publication Date: 1964-1976
"This monumental reference work, complete in ten volumes, is the authorized and unabridged translation of the famous Theologisches Wörterbuch zum Neuen Testament, known commonly as "Kittel" and considered by many scholars to be the best New Testament Dictionary ever compiled. Mediating between ordinary lexicography and the specific task of exposition, TDNT treats more than 2,300 theologically significant New Testament words, including the more important prepositions and numbers as well as many proper names from the Old Testament. "
On Bible Odyssey, the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible. The site includes other useful resources such as the "image gallery."
New Testament Gateway
Welcome to The New Testament Gateway, the directory of academic internet resources on the New Testament, hosted by Logos Bible Software and edited by Mark Goodacre. Browse or search annotated links on everything connected with the academic study of the New Testament and Christian Origins. For all the latest information on the site, please visit the NT Blog.
SBL Research Tools
This SBL sponsored site offers links to research web sites, journals and other relevant resources.
Rambi:The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
"RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – was founded by Dr. Issachar Joel in 1966. It is a selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
RAMBI is based largely on the collections of the National Library. The articles listed in RAMBI are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers."
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library