Skip to Main Content
Online Reference Tools
Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology
"Represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. "
Encyclopedia of World Methodism Vol. 1
This 2-volume work is a standard reference for Methodist history.
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed.
"This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more."
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 3rd ed.
An excellent one-volume reference work with an emphasis on British church history.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the definitive source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature. This broadly cast, interdisciplinary definition allows for a comprehensive social and intellectual history of early modern Europe."
Post Reformation Digital Library
"The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research."
Print Reference Tools
Cambridge History of Christianity by
Call Number: vary: BR305.3 .R4 (= vol. 6); 270.7 E58e (vol. 7); 270.81 W927w (= vol. 8); 270.82 W927w (= vol. 9)
Publication Date: 2006-2007
"This series offers a comprehensive chronological account of the development of Christianity in all its aspects theological, intellectual, social, political, regional, global from its beginnings to the present day. Each volume makes a substantial contribution in its own right to the scholarship of its period and the complete History constitutes a major work of academic reference. Far from being merely a history of Western European Christianity and its offshoots, the History aims to provide a global perspective. "
Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism by
Call Number: Ref BL238 .E63
Publication Date: 2001
"This new encyclopedia follows a broad definition of fundamentalism and covers fundamentalism across time and place, although the emphasis remains on its primary manifestation: Protestant fundamentalism in the United States."
Encyclopedia of Protestantism by
Call Number: Ref BX4811.3 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2004
"An essential resource for all religion students, this widely applauded work, containing over 1040 entries and filling 4 full volumes in its print version, is the definitive reference to the history and beliefs that continue to exert a profound influence on Western thought. Featuring articles written by an international team of specialists and scholars, the encyclopedia traces the course of Protestantism from its beginnings prior to 1517, when Martin Luther nailed his 95 Theses to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral, to the vital and diverse international scene of the present day."
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
Call Number: Ref BL2520 .E52
Publication Date: 2010
"Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States."
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library