LibGuides: Subject Guide: Sociology: Background

Reference Sources

A to Z of Social Research, 2003 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer
Call Number: Reference HM 425.B53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
An eleven-volume collection of summaries and overviews.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Key Concepts in Critical Social Theory, 2005. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Provides brief accounts of the central ideas behind the key concepts of critical social theory."
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering Latino and Latina experience.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia covering "Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America."

Crime Solutions
The Office of Justice Programs' CrimeSolutions.gov "uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. "
Digital Library of Appalachia
The Digital Library of Appalachia provides online access to archival and historical materials related to “the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region.”

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Demographic and other statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Free U.S. Government Website.

County and City Data Books
A convenient summary of statistics on the social and economic structure of the counties and cities of the United States. I

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
"Data.gov starts an exciting new chapter in its evolution to make government data more accessible and usable than ever before."
Eurostat This link opens in a new window
European statistics from the statistical office of the European Union.

Gapminder
Gapminder World and Gapminder Countries are web-services displaying time series of development statistics for all countries, "converting boring numbers into enjoyable, animated and interactive graphics."
Human Mortality Database
Detailed mortality and population data for 37 countries. Set up a free account to access data sets.

ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Data sets in social sciences. (You must create a MyData account to download data.)

Re3Data.org: Registry of Research Data Repositories
Pulls together links for more than 1500 data repositories. (Previously Databib.)