Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a number of databases that cover the sociological literature. Also, explore the bibliographies of articles and books that you read on a topic. Start collecting bibliography early - you may need to use Interlibrary Loan to retrieve material.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journals, books, conference papers, and other content related to sociology and all sub-disciplines
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With less rigorous indexing than SOCIndex, this sometimes pulls up results you won't find in SOCIndex.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Research and articles related to African American, Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern/Persian and Islamic, Asian/Pacific Island, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-ethnic and Native Peoples. Contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the international journal, and book literature in psychology and related disciplines since 1887. Lots of full text is available. Click on the "find article" icon if the pdf or html link to the article is not visible.
Web of Science and Knowledge (ISI Citation Indexes) This link opens in a new window
3 major citation indexes covering the Sciences, the Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities. Start with a known article and find other articles that have cited it. Also useful for interdisciplinary keyword searching.
NEW FALL 2021 - New platform introduced summer 2021. Some features of the old platform are not yet available on the new platform . Use the "products" box on the new platform to access the old platform.
Worldcat This link opens in a new window
A database of all the books and other items cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Click “borrow this item from another library” to request an item via Interlibrary Loan. See also: worldcat.org
Getting the Items
When you are searching a database, click on to see if Drew owns or has access to it.
If it is not full-text, first search in Google Scholar to see if the author has made it available. If they haven't (or if the link asks you to buy the item), request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library