LibGuides: Master Boxes & Guidelines: Data Boxes

United States & World Economic Data

These links contain data concerning employment, economic output, and other macroeconomic variables in the United States.

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) compiles extensive data on gross domestic product (GDP), personal income, and corporate profits.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes data on unemployment and consumer prices, as well as a host of data related to the US labor force.
Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
The Congressional Budget Office provides data on federal spending and revenue, projections of future spending and deficits, and forecasts.
FRED Economic Data
User-friendly database of U.S. and international time series data maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
NBER Public Use Data Archive
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) hosts data covering the U.S. economy, industry, and international trade.
More U.S. Macro Data
This page lists sites that offer regional data, real-time data, census forecasts, and more.

These data sources have anonymized information about individuals that allows researchers to study microeconomic questions. This includes individual-level data on income, employment, health, and more.

U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. census bureau offers a wealth of data relating to the U.S. population, including basic demographics, and much more.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of statistics related to social, political and economic conditions in the United States. Published annually by the government since 1878; as of 2013 published by Proquest. Updated monthly.
Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Demographic and other statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Free U.S. Government Website.
ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Data sets in social sciences. (You must create a MyData account to download data.)

Medicare & Medicaid Services
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) provide extensive data on Medicare, Medicaid, and health insurance.
Panel Survey of Income Dynamics
The Panel Survey of Income Dynamics (PSID) is a long-running panel survey that records many observations for the same people over time.
IPUMS
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series maintained by the University of Minnesota provides easy access to historical census microdata.
Nasdaq Data Link
The Nasdaq Data Link is a resource for financial, economic and alternative datasets.
More U.S. Micro Data
This page provides links to census information, archives, surveys, and more.

These links contain sources with data from countries around the world.

World Bank
The World Bank offers an authoritative collection of country-level datasets on many different economic and demographic indicators.
Penn World Tables (PWT)
The PWT offers national income accounts converted to international prices, allowing for meaningful international and historical comparisons.

UNdata This link opens in a new window
A single entry point for UN statistical databases.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF provides data tables, fact sheets, news briefs, and a working paper series.
World Trade Organization (WTO)
The WTO offers information on goods, services, intellectual property, environment, development, policy reviews, and dispute settlements.
Oanda
Oanda is a foreign-exchange company that provides detailed records of historical currency exchange rates.
More Worldwide Data
World data, indices, country studies, and more.

Research Guides

Master Boxes & Guidelines

United States & World Economic Data