Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you need:
- A book or journal article that Drew may have electronically, check ScholarSearch or the Library Catalog
- Book chapter(s), or articles from journals that Drew only has in print format, use Request for Material Scan. Scans of over 150 pages will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Within 2-3 business days you will be notified by email whether we can fill a given request of this length. If the Library Catalog does not list chapters or essays, check WorldCat for that information.
- To check out a book from the Library collection, if you are able to come to campus to pick it up, use the Drew Loan pickup request form.
- A journal article or essay in a book that Drew does not own, use Interlibrary Loan.
- A book that Drew does not own, please submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request. Due to COVID restrictions, ILL has been unpredictable so you will be notified if the Library is NOT able to fulfill the request using that service. If the Library is unable to get it via ILL, please use the Library Resources Request Form so we may explore other alternatives. The Library will determine whether purchasing an ebook, digitizing a print copy, or purchasing a print copy is the best option. Within 2-3 business days you will be notified by email advising how we will fill your request.
- If you need help with these resources, your library colleagues are here to help — start with the Ask a Librarian page.
Open Access Resources
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
- JSTOR Open Access Books
More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
- Open Access on Project Muse
Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
- PLOS (Public Library of Science)
open access e-journals in science and medicine
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
- Project Muse
open access ejournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.
- Standard Ebooks
The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library