Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

SPAN 400: Hispanic Studies Senior Capstone: Find Background

Using Background Sources

Using background sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries can speed up the research or learning process by:

Providing quick definitions of unfamiliar terms
Giving overviews of complex topics
Citing sources that the author believes are good starting points to understand a subject.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
Publication Date: 2014
Brief definitions of linguistic terms
Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
ISBN: 9780748616916
Publication Date: 2004
A dictionary of socially-oriented linguistics.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture.
Publication Date: 1999
Focusing on the late 20th century.
Historical Dictionary of U. S. Latino Literature by Francisco A. Lomelí; Donaldo W. Urioste; María Joaquina Villaseñor
ISBN: 9781442275485
Publication Date: 2016
Overview articles on authors and movements.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
ISBN: 0415306868
Publication Date: 2004
Entries on authors, genres and literary movements in South and Central America
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: Reference E184.S76 O97 2005
ISBN: 9780195156003
Publication Date: 2005-08-25

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library