Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Drew University Library Blog

Black History: Exploring resources from the Library and more

by Margery Ashmun on 2022-02-24T11:07:00-05:00 in History | Comments

Hello readers,

Before the month of February is over we wanted to share informarion about resources related to African American (or Black) History. Please take a moment to explore the resources listed below and/or bookmark this page so you may return to the resources as needed. As always, please contact the Library at email: reference@drew.edu if you need assistance. 

 

 

 

 

 

Black History beyond February...

Scrawled shortcuts through the research maze…

 

Drew Library offers a variety of online resources for exploring Black History -- see below for available options.  Sample searches might include browsing or searching primary sources in African-American Newspapers of the 19th Century to learn about what ‘free blacks’ might have experienced in the 1800s —this database contains news publications by and for African-Americans.  The research options are endless...take a peek at the links below.

 

Africa Knowledge Project (Drew users only) Black Studies Center (Drew users only)
African American Historical Serials Collection (Drew users only) Black Studies Periodicals
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Drew users only) Black Women in America (Drew users only)
Black Freedom Struggle Website Oxford African American Studies Center (Drew users only)
Black Lives Matter Learning Resource Slavery And Anti-Slavery Archives (Drew users only)

 
Historical Statistics of Black America 

In 1943, 12 African American students enrolled at Drew, one of the few predominantly white institutions that enrolled African American students in that year. Learn more about African Americans in education in Chapter 4 of this resource. Create a free account in Internet Archive to "borrow" the book HERE. Fascinating information on many topics may be found in this resource. 

 

 

 

 
Encyclopedia of African American Christian Heritage

On April 4, 1967, Martin Luther King’s sermon at Riverside Church in Manhattan opposing the Vietnam War sent ripples through the community of civil rights leaders. In additon to Dr. King, many fine preachers were working hard to foster change. Read more about them in Section 2, p. 50 in this resource HERE. Use your free account in the Internet Archive to "borrow" this book.

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
U.S. Census, February 2022, African-American History Month: 

Fascinating statistics related to African-Americans in the United States may be found HERE from the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

Historical Census Browser

The US Census has collected racial data (and data about slavery) since its first Census. Explore historical population distribution HERE, particularly the distribution of the enslaved in 1860. 

 

 

 

Ethnic NewsWatch 

Read scholarship, opinion, and news written BY African Americans rather than ABOUT them.  

Explore Ethnic NewsWatch  linked HERE (Drew users only).  Searches can be limited to find general or scholarly resources by African American/Caribbean/African groups or individuals.

 
 

 

 

 

 

* Warning: browsing reference sources can be enlightening!

Contributors to this blogpost include Margery Ashmun, Jody Caldwell, Guy Dobson, and Jenne Heise.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library