Accessible and jargon-free, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory provides lucid, concise explanations of myriad approaches to literature that have arisen over the past forty years.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.

This A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania.

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature, Second Edition offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature offers comprehensive coverage of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more, this accessible A-to-Z encyclopedia provides students with an extensive overview of this period of literature.

A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces, and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

U.S. Latino Literature is defined as Latino literature within the United States that embraces the heterogeneous inter-groupings of Latinos. For too long U.S. Latino literature has not been considered an integral part of the overall shared American literary landscape, but that is slowly changing. This dictionary aims to rectify some of those misconceptions by proving that Latinos do fundamentally express American issues, concerns, and perspectives with a flair in linguistic cadences, familial themes, distinct world views, and cross-cultural voices. The Historical Dictionary of U.S. Latino Literature contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has cross-referenced entries on U.S. Latino/a authors, and terms relevant to the nature of U.S. Latino literature to illustrate and corroborate its foundational bearings within the overall American literary experience.

This is the first reference guide to the political, cultural, and economic histories that form the subject matter of postcolonial literature written in English. The Companion focuses principally on the histories of postcolonial literature in the Anglophone world - Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand, the Pacific, the Caribbean, and Canada. There are also long entries discussing the literature and histories of those further areas claiming the title 'postcolonial', notably Britain, East Asia, Ireland, Latin America, and the United States.

The Companion contains 220 entries written by 150 acknowledged scholars of postcolonial history and literature and covers major events, ideas, movements, and figures in postcolonial histories. In addition, for each region, there are long survey essays on historiography and women's histories.

Horror Literature through History shows 21st-century horror fans the literary sources of their favorite entertainment and the rich intrinsic value of horror literature in its own right. Through profiles of major authors, critical analyses of important works, and overview essays focused on horror during particular periods as well as on related issues such as religion, apocalypticism, social criticism, and gender, readers will discover the fascinating early roots and evolution of horror writings as well as the reciprocal influence of horror literature and horror cinema. This unique two-volume reference set provides wide coverage that is current and compelling to modern readers--who are of course also eager consumers of entertainment.