It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
This database searches across all the databases the library subscribes to through the vendor Proquest. Similar to Drew Scholarsearch, but doesn't include Drew Library books. Natural language, Google-like searching.
Searching ERIC through Drew/Ebsco
ERIC- Basic search strategy
Library databases general use 'boolean logic,' 'keyword,' and 'controlled vocabulary' (subject heading) searches rather than Google-type 'natural language searching'
When searching in ERIC or any other library-type database, you want to separate your topic into concepts and connect them with boolean logic (and parentheses, if necessary).
When two concepts, and/or the keywords that express them, should BOTH appear in any relevant searches, you want to connect them with AND like this: digital storytelling AND instruction
This narrows your search
When EITHER of two alternative concepts, or synonyms/related keywords would make your result relevant, connect them with OR, like this: classroom OR instruction
This widens your search
As in math, different search boxes or parentheses allow you to group results: digital storytelling AND (instruction or classroom)
Other search tiips
You can 'truncate' a term with an asterisk * to find that term and all its suffixes: teach* gets teach, teaches, teaching, teacher, teachers, teachable, etc.
Phrases can be kept together in search by enclosing them with quotes: "adaptive learning"
Use "Apply equivalent words" and "apply related subjects" to widen your search.
Use limits (see next slide for details).
Limiting in ERIC
ERIC has snazzy ways to limit your results:
In the limits drop-downs, you can use Ctrl-click or Shift-click select more than one term.
Education level is the level of the students being taught/the education being provided. (note that Elementary Education and Primary Education are broadly similar, as are High Schools and Secondary Education: choose both, plus respective grade levels, for the best results)
Intended audience is the audience of reader to which the text is directed. (Teachers and Practitioners should be selected at the same time.)
You can also limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) publications to get academic standard journal research
If you limit to full text publications, you may miss some that are in Drew's other databases
You can limit by date, language, publication type, etc.
The What Works Clearinghouse rating is specific to research articles published after 2002.