Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Current, online version of the definitive dictionary of the English language. Traces the evolution of a word over time.
Searchable online reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and quotation books in many subject areas.
Bartleby.com Great Books Online
Free if somewhat dated collection of resources, including Roget's thesaurus, dictionaries, full text bible, Shakespeare, and quotation sources
This standard dictionary provides a subset of its definitions online-- and is at the top of its Twitter game
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to historical census data and demographic information. It creates maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. Users can customize, save, share, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.
See Social Explorer Libguide here. http://https://socialexplorer.libguides.com/c.php?g=1109019&p=8086444
Explore Census Data
Demographic and other statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau. Free U.S. Government Website.
CIA World Factbook
This resource from the Central Intelligence Agency gives information and statistics about countries of the world.
Condition of Education
Federally sponsored statistics collection on U.S. Education.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center, strictly constrained against partisanship, conducts social survey projects in a wide variety of areas of American life.
This is a single point of entry for all the United Nations statistical databases; it's probably best to scan down the list of databases rather than search.
Questions? Need Help? Email email@example.com
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library