It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education: Digital Writing Institute: Find Articles
This database from the US Department of education allows you to identify articles that appeared in journals and educational research reports/papers that were submitted to the Department from 1966 to the present.
While this link goes to the Drew subscription, you can also search ERIC via the Dept. of Ed. website at https://eric.ed.gov/
Best points: allows you to limit by detailed Education level, Audience, and Publication types.
This is one of Drew's subscription databases. It uses the same type of subject keywords as Academic Search Premier and Scholarsearch, which can be an advantage, but that also makes it harder to specify education-only topics.
Education Research database searches education-related publications. Full text of many journals as well as some books and conference papers.
Another one of Drew's subscription databases, but most colleges and universities will have access to this. It indexes journals and some books published in literature and language arts, with an emphasis on English literature.
Be aware that a lot of the journals are obscure, and there are no abstracts of the papers; it's still essential for finding literary scholarship.
Most libraries will have access to other resources about literature, including the Contemporary (and other) Literary Criticism series, Contemporary Authors, Something about the Author, etc. Depending on the library, these may be available online-- or not. Be sure to check to see what resources the library/libraries you use have!
This service searches across a number of our article databases, plus the library catalog. Because it includes material from a large slice of our databases, it's a great place to start looking, or to find out if we have access to a specific book or article. Prefers a "boolean", library keyword search with AND and OR.
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
This database searches across all the databases the library subscribes to through the vendor Proquest. Similar to Drew Scholarsearch, but doesn't include Drew Library books. Natural language, Google-like searching.
Most statewide library consortia make available specified search engines for elementary and high school students, which often provide content specified to a certain reading/understanding level. Here are some examples that we have through the Jerseyclicks (New Jersey State Library) database selection
A search engine for elementary school students. As with the other databases, not everything is full text; but if you are wondering how you can find out which kids' magazines had articles on wombats, this is a good place to start!
Getting to Full-text - "how to"
ScholarSearch - finding full-text
If you are searching in Scholar Search, you will see both books and articles.
Some databases have full text incorporated in them; almost all of our databases, however, are connected to "Find it @Drew" which will check all our electronic journal sources to see if an article is available.
If the articles are directly connected into the database, it will give you a direct link to the PDF or HTML or Linked full text; some items will be not in our collection and you'll be directed to request them through Interlibrary Loan.
For many, you'll need to click Find it @Drew to see whether it's available electronically:
Finding full text at Drew
When you click Find it @Drew you will be taken to a page that will offer you a list of links to the resource in our electronic journal holdings. (Sometimes we have a journal article via more than one database; that's why you see multiple links. Click one of the links to get to the full text:
Finding full-text at Drew
If we don't have access to the journal/article online, Find it @Drew will give you links
to look for it online as free, open access via Google Scholar
to request it through our Interlibrary Loan system (ILLiad)
NOTE: The first time you request an article or book via ILLiad (our InterLibraryLoan system), you will be asked to fill out a short form. It may take several days to receive an article via InterLibraryLoan; books can take longer.
If you already have information about a specific article (author, journal or magazine title, title of the article, etc.), use Drew's Journal List Search. Enter the title of the journal or magazine, and then drill down to the specific item you need.
Selective index of journal articles in Education and reports in Education from 1966 to the present.
Basic search strategy
Library databases general use 'boolean logic,' 'keyword,' and 'controlled vocabulary' (subject heading) searches rather than Google-type 'natural language searching'
When searching in ERIC or any other library-type database, you want to separate your topic into concepts and connect them with boolean logic (and parentheses, if necessary).
When two concepts, and/or the keywords that express them, should BOTH appear in any relevant searches, you want to connect them with AND like this: digital storytelling AND instruction
This narrows your search
When EITHER of two alternative concepts, or synonyms/related keywords would make your result relevant, connect them with OR, like this: classroom OR instruction
This widens your search
As in math, different search boxes or parentheses allow you to group results: digital storytelling AND (instruction or classroom)
Other search tiips
You can 'truncate' a term with an asterisk * to find that term and all its suffixes: teach* gets teach, teaches, teaching, teacher, teachers, teachable, etc.
Phrases can be kept together in search by enclosing them with quotes: "adaptive learning"
Use "Apply equivalent words" and "apply related subjects" to widen your search.
Use limits (see next slide for details).
Limiting in ERIC
ERIC has snazzy ways to limit your results:
In the limits drop-downs, you can use Ctrl-click or Shift-click select more than one term.
Education level is the level of the students being taught/the education being provided. (note that Elementary Education and Primary Education are broadly similar, as are High Schools and Secondary Education: choose both, plus respective grade levels, for the best results)
Intended audience is the audience of reader to which the text is directed. (Teachers and Practitioners should be selected at the same time.)
You can also limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) publications to get academic standard journal research
If you limit to full text publications, you may miss some that are in Drew's other databases
You can limit by date, language, publication type, etc.
The What Works Clearinghouse rating is specific to research articles published after 2002.