Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Education: Digital Writing Institute: Sage Research Methods

Getting to know Sage Research Methods (SRM)

SAGE Research Methods Online was created to help anyone undertaking a research project -- this resource can help from the start with formulating the fundamental question, to choosing appropriate research and analysis methodologies and design elements, to the presentation and dissemination of results.

Project planner: This tool is designed to guide the researcher through the complete research project.  After evaluating their current stage of research, the user may enter the planning process at any given point in the interactive Project Planner timeline that best describes their current state. 

Using Sages’ Little Green Books, the popular Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, a researcher can utilize short and accessible texts that provide information on a variety of quantitative methods.

Clear statistical explanations, straightforward empirical examples, and ready-to-use procedures are included in these supplementary texts and are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced statistics course across the spectrum of academic disciplines.

Need to learn about analysis of variance? There’s a Little Green Book for that! The brief volumes address a spectrum of advanced quantitative topics including regression, models, data analysis, experimental design, measurement, survey data, and more. (from the publisher)

    Practice data analysis : Sage provides access to practice datasets to help researchers master qualitative and quantitative data analysis

Using Sages’s Little Blue Books, the popular Qualitative Research Methods series, a researcher may utilize short and accessible texts that provide information on a variety of qualitative methods.

Clear explanations and commentary on both theoretical and practical considerations in the implementation of qualitative research ar included in these supplementary texts and are appropriate for the individual researcher, and any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced qualitative methods course across the spectrum of academic disciplines.

Need guidance about risky research? Try a search in the Little Blue Book Dangerous Fieldwork. The brief volumes address a full range of advanced qualitative topics including writing up qualitative research, participatory action research, feminist fieldwork analysis, discourse analysis, and ethnography.

 

Learn from stories about real research: Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects

Find quick answers and definitions

Sage’s Reference works provide dictionary definitions and encyclopedia entries on research topics, including umbrella terms such as qualitative research methods, and specific lines of inquiry such as action research.

Dictionary definitions are a useful first step into understanding potentially complex research terms. Encyclopedia entries are both broad and deep, presented in an authoritative, interdisciplinary, and accessible way.

Reference resources are invaluable assets to researchers anywhere in the world, and provide students with the perfect place to develop their understanding of methods and to start their research.

Read classic and cutting edge books. Online books come in five formats:

  • Books are full digital versions of print text, as you would expect to find in an academic library.
  • Handbooks provide comprehensive coverage of specific subjects, such as online research methods.
  • Little Blue Books provide guidance and teaching for qualitative research methods
  • Little Green Books provide the same for quantitative research methods. These are in-depth guides on specific research methods. Finally,
  • Major Works are volumes of curated book and journal content that address particular methods of research

Watch methods come alive

SAGE Research Methods Video

includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. Find videos made with expert researchers from leading research institutions, your favorite SAGE authors, great teachers and more

Get Help

chat loading...

Phone 973-408-3588; email reference@drew.edu

Questions? Need Help? Email reference@drew.edu

Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library