Skip to main content
Using Indexes and Databases
To locate journal articles and essays in books, check a relevant database. (You may need to check more than one!)
Indexes scholarly materials in journals and essay collections on literature, film, drama and language, 1926 to present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields. Content Includes:
Full text for more than 440 journals,cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 670 journals and selected coverage of nearly 180 journals
If you do not find what you need in the indexes above, think about searching a full-text search tool or database. If you're looking for the application of a specific theory to a problem, full-text is often appropriate.
WE NOW HAVE ACCESS TO ALL JSTOR ARCHIVE COLLECTIONS .Full text database of over 1600 journals; generally does not contain most recent materials. Most journals lack the last several years, but holdings are very deep, with many journals running back more than a hundred years.
Articles from over 300 scholarly journals, 1993-present; covers literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
See ScienceDirect LibGuide for access information: http://libguides.drew.edu/SCIDIRECT
The Elsevier Science Direct journal and book collection covers physical and life sciences, as well as social sciences and other disciplines; indexes over 2,800 journals and 1900 books; full text available for over 1,000 journals. Note: To obtain full text ScienceDirect articles outside of Drew's subscribed content, please contact Drew Library Chat with citation information (M-F 9AM-5PM and S-Th 6-10PM) or submit article request through Inter-Library Loan.
If you have an article or two that you have found particularly helpful, you can use Google Scholar to identify more recent articles that have cited your original articles:
This free, interdisciplinary resource indexes the available text of scholarly journal sites and scholarly website collections on the Internet, and allows citation searching. No subject searching.
May include general interest books, student writing, or other education-related materials that are not scholarly. Check journal web pages to determine whether material is peer reviewed.
, Film Studies
, Pan-African Studies
, Women and Gender Studies
Questions? Need Help? Email firstname.lastname@example.org
Drew University Library, http://www.drew.edu/library