LibGuides: HIST 400: Capstone History Research Seminar: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library course page for HIST 400. Follow the tabs above to find books, articles, and some primary sources for your HIST 400 research project. This page is meant as a starting point, so please feel free to contact me directly if you have additional questions!

Best,

Matthew

Getting Started (Overview)

ARTICLES

These topics will be fairly detailed, so we can use our broader academic databases. I suggest started HERE, our EBSCO suite of databases.

Books

For these projects, don't limit yourself to books at Drew. Use WORLDCAT to find every book on your topic. The subject headings and keywords from your article searches will work here too.

Primary sources to Consider
Newspapers, journals, diaries, letters, images, films, any document created during that period.

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1876, including Early American Newspapers Series 1. includes more than 730 American newspapers.
Offers essential titles from 23 states and the District of Columbia Search full text & view scanned pages. tags: HistoryQL
Digitized Collections from the Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Links to numerous primary documents, audio recordings, images and more. Browse by topic of search by keyword. tags: HistoryQL
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists’ estates.
For off-campus access and to save your research, set up a free account.
Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of selected articles from Northern and Southern American newspapers, Nov. 1860-April 1865.

Chronicling America (Lib of Congress)
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. "

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE! To find primary sources, limit publication date range to your period of study (example, 1890-1920)

HathiTrust
Good for finding scanned books published before the 20th century.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across Gale Primary Source holdings in our subscription, including Archives of Sexuality & Gender, Women's Studies Archive and Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.

GoogleBooks
Good for finding scanned books published before the 20th century.

Your Librarian

Matthew Beland

Email Me

Contact:

973-408-3532

Library Guides

HIST 400: Capstone History Research Seminar: Home

Welcome!

Getting Started (Overview)

Your Librarian