LibGuides: Subject Guide: Medical Humanities: Background

Reference Sources

Handbooks and guides
Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Merck Manual Online An online medical reference with two options for content delivery: (1) a professional version that provides more advanced information for healthcare professionals and students or (2) a consumer version that offers easier-to-interpret content for readers who may be patients or caregivers. The professional version segments information into Medical Topics, Drug Information, News&Commentary, Procedures&Exams, and more. Topics are often covered in brief, usually with links to the supporting scholarly research in peer-reviewed journals that require a subscription.

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Mark H. Beers (Editor); Justin L. Kaplan (Editor); Michael Berkwits (Editor); Thomas V. Jones; Robert S. Porter
Call Number: Counter RC55.M4 2006
ISBN: 9780911910186
Publication Date: 2006-04-07
18th Edition, 2006 print edition in Library. Now available online with continuous with continuous updates.

Bioethics, 2014.
Call Number: Reference QH 332.E52 2014
A six-volume encyclopedia of issues and theories, with bibliographies of recommended sources for further information
Debates on U.S. Health Care, 2012
Call Number: Reference RA 395.A3 2012
Lengthy discussions of issues, with additional sources listed.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 2004.
Lengthy entries on a wide variety of bioethical issues, with extensive bibliographies. Be aware of the copyright date.
Handbook of Bioethical Terms, 2009.
Call Number: Reference R 725.5.T83 2009
Brief definitions of terms

Statistics/Data

How to find data and statistics: Libguide

Go HERE for an excellent Libguide from Michigan State University that provides good background info on data and statitsics and provides links to open sources for both.

Reference Librarian

Reference Department at Drew University Library

Email Me

Contact:

Drew Library
36 Madison Ave
Madison, NJ 07940

973-408-3588

Library Guides

Subject Guide: Medical Humanities: Background

Reference Sources

Statistics/Data

How to find data and statistics: Libguide

Reference Librarian